The new law on “Democratic Memory”: a threat to freedom2022-08-22T20:57:54+01:00

Fundación Disenso presents a new report on the new law on ‘Democratic Memory’ approved this Tuesday by the Council of Ministers.

The Council of Ministers of Spain has approved this Tuesday the new law of ‘Democratic Memory’ which replaces the law promoted by the former Prime Minister, José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero, in 2017.

The new law imposes a simplistic and Manichean interpretation of contemporary history; creates a Public Prosecutor’s Office for Democratic Memory and Human Rights with the aim of muzzling historians; attacks the legitimacy of the constitutional monarchy; and creates a Council for Democratic Memory to establish what is compatible with the Constitution and what is not.

This report aims to analyse the most controversial aspects of the law and warns about the consequences of its approval.

You can download the original report here.


This post was translated from:

(2021) ‘La nueva ley de ‘Memoria Democrática’: una amenaza contra la libertad’, Fundación Disenso, Madrid, 20 July. Available at: https://fundaciondisenso.org/2021/07/20/la-nueva-ley-de-memoria-democratica-una-amenaza-contra-la-libertad/ (Accessed: 21 July 2021).

Share this article!

1494 Christopher Columbus founded the city of Concepción de la Vega (Dominican Republic), on the island of Hispaniola.
1524 Francisco Hernández de Córdoba founded the city of Granada (Nicaragua), one of the first on the American mainland.
1537 The Spanish captain Alonso de Cáceres founded the city of Comayagua, Honduras, in New Spain, with the name of villa de Sta Mª de la Concepción de Comayagua.
1548 The Spanish captain Alonso de Mercadillo founded the city of Loja, Ecuador, in the viceroyalty of Peru.
1659 The city of Paso del Norte was founded in New Spain and would later be divided into El Paso (United States) and Ciudad Juarez (Mexico).
1709 Jesuit Lucas Caballero founded the mission and town of Concepción (Chiquitos) in curent Bolivia.
1744 The city of Copiapó (Chile) was founded by Governor José Manso de Velasco, with the name of San Francisco de la Selva de Copiapó.

Recommended for you


Go to Top