Christopher Columbus' first landing in the Americas, by Dioscoro Puebla

The history of Spain has been, between the 15th and 18th centuries, the history of the world. Great explorations, scientific discoveries, the discovery and subsequent liberation of America, the globalisation of trade, … all happened under the Spanish banner. But history has distorted, falsified or forgotten many of the great Spanish exploits for the benefit of others who came later, British, French, …

In this section we will try to put things in their place; we will tell the story as it was, without additions, putting in the place they deserve such important characters as Francisco Javier Bamis and the nurse Isabel Zendal, Bernardo de Gálvez, Fray Junipero Serra, Andrés de Urdaneta, Ana María de Soto and many many many more Spaniards whose actions should be filling up bookshelves and movie theatres but, instead, are hidden in dusty unknown archives.

We will also review some of the exagerated achievements of other nations and put them in context, far from propaganda and embellishments.

On This Day

1451 Isabel I of Castile known, as "the Catholic", is born in Madrigal de las Altas Torres.
1519 Hernán Cortés founds the city of Veracruz, Mexico.
1529 Spain and Portugal sign the Treaty of Saragossa, which will delimit exactly the areas of influence in Asia.
1535 Carlos I of Spain granted the coat of arms to the city of Tlaxcala, Mexico.
1616 Spanish novelist, poet, playwright, and soldier Miguel de Cervantes dies.
1692 Tomás de la Cerda Aragón, former viceroy of New Spain, dies.
1758 Spanish military officer and politician Francisco Javier Castaños is born.
1779 Spanish navigator Francisco de Viedma y Narváez founded the cities of Viedma and Carmen de Patagones in Argentina.
1819 The city of Cienfugos, Cuba, is founded.
1855 Queen Isabel II of Spain signs a law decreeing the creation of the first Spanish electrotelegraphic network.
1904 Philosopher María Zambrano is born in Vélez-Málaga.
1904 Philosopher and essayist María Zambrano is born in Vélez-Málaga.